Friday, December 23, 2011

Ted Nugent - Fred Bear





Fred Bear was an incredibly famous bowhunter, manufacturer, and television host, and is a pioneer in the bowhunting community, helping popularizing it. One of his achievements was taking a polar bear while armed with only a bow. Below is a song that is a tribute to the late Fred Bear by friend and fellow hunter Ted Nugent. Whenever deer season starts where I live the song gets a lot of airtime as due to it being about hunting and nature. Its definitely a good song to listen to while out amongst nature. Listen below to see for yourself!

Thursday, December 15, 2011

Led Zeppelin - Immigrant Song


The Immigrant Song is one of Led Zeppelin's most well known song's and is found on the album Led Zeppelin III, and was released as a single on November 5th, 1970. The song is full of references to the vikings and has an immediately recognizable guitar riff. I know I used this picture before, but it is incredibly fitting for this song. Just imagine listening to it while out in the ocean, would definitely be exhilarating.


Friday, December 2, 2011

The Eagles - In The City


I am a fan of the Eagles and greatly enjoy their rendition of In The City, best known as the song that play's over the credits of the 1979 cult classic The Warriors, which is one of my favorite cult films. I was listening to the song and realized the above picture went well with said song, and figured you guys would appreciate it as well.


Thursday, November 24, 2011

ZZ Top - Gimme All Your Lovin'


I love ZZ Top, and the Eliminator is one of their best selling albums. It marks a departure from their earlier blues rock sound in favor for more of a 80s rock sound. Many of the videos associated with the album received constant rotation on MTV back when MTV was still playing music videos and help make the band a worldwide sensation. The picture is from the movie Death Proof, which despite some of its shortcomings is an entertaining movie, and is full of good looking girls and very nice cars, as can be seen in the picture.


Tuesday, November 8, 2011

Spencer Davis Group - Gimme Some Lovin'



That .gif above is awesome, and the dancing fits well with one of the songs currently getting a lot of play on my playlist, the Spencer Davis Group's Gimme Some Lovin'. Take a listen and see for yourself, as well as enjoy an awesome song!


Saturday, October 29, 2011

Just One Of Those Really Bad Days and Free - All Right Now


Two days ago I had one of the worst days ever. I had to take my car to a local mechanic to get repairs, which turned out to be even worse then expected, including replacing the rear axle that had somehow become cracked, so that is going to be sitting in the shop for a few days longer than expected. Since I didn't have my car accessible to drive to my classes at the college I go to I had to take one of our other vehicles. I ended up having to take a full size conversion van as that was the only vehicle left to use. I had not driven the thing in months and it was a totally different feel from the car.

Saturday, October 22, 2011

Heart - Barracuda


Time for a new post! I was going through some of my wallpapers recently to find a new one, and found the picture above. As with the Jane's Addiction post I made a while back I knew a song could definitely go with this picture. This one however was much easier to find a good song for. I absolutely love the guitar riff in this song, with its galloping feel. Definitely a badass song to go along with a badass picture.


Wednesday, October 5, 2011

Pink Floyd - Welcome To The Machine


As anyone knows, I am a fan of Pink Floyd. The wallpaper above is one of my favorite wallpapers, as well as one of my favorite songs from the 1975 album Wish You Were Here. A music video for the song can be viewed below, as well as a screenshot of my incredibly Spartan desktop on my laptop.
 
 

Friday, September 23, 2011

Hello - New York Groove




I have never been to New York, and frankly I am quite biased towards it. I live only a couple hours from Chicago, which is why I think Chicago is a better city. However this song is just awesome and makes me want to go to NYC, just to walk down the streets jamming to it. Most people nowadays would probably recognize it from being included on the Grand Theft Auto IV soundtrack, but I hear it a lot on the radio where I live. That is why I decided to make a post about it!

I also was bored and took the picture a picture of the New York skyline from the 1990s it looks like and aged it to look like it is like a photo from the 1970s. I think it turned out fairly well.

Tuesday, September 20, 2011

Nails 88 Lines about 44 Women (More pictures of celebs smoking)





I haven't exhausted my collection of pictures yet! Just like in my last post there will be pictures of celebrities and models smoking. Also today's post's song sounds a lot like the song from the previous post, but came out around 10 years before. There is a definite influence from this song.


Sunday, September 18, 2011

Butthole Surfers - Pepper (with pictures of celebs smoking)


The Butthole Surfers are definitely an interesting band, and their song Pepper is definitely my favorite song by them. It has a laid back slightly surreal feel to it. To accompany this song I have a bunch of black and white wallpapers of various celebs smoking, as the pictures fit the feel of the song. As I said, I am rather good at matching pictures up with songs!

Monday, September 12, 2011

Jane's Addiction - Ocean Size





I saw this picture, and thought "I think I could find a song to go with said picture." I am usually pretty good at it, but not today. It took my 2 hours to figure out a song to go with said picture, which is a bit frustrating to me, because I can usually figure a song out withing 10 minutes maximum. It was fun to have a challenge though. The song I finally ended up choosing was Ocean Size by Jane's Addiction. I think it fits rather well.

Saturday, September 3, 2011

Boards of Canada- Hi Scores (Marble Hornets music video)


For those who do not know what Marble Hornets is, it is a web series that revolves around a group of students and the production of a film called Marble Hornets. Early on though the film is abandoned and Alex, the director, goes missing, leaving boxes of tapes behind for his friend. Through these tapes Jay, the narrator of the series, discovers what happened before Alex went missing. One of the malevolent entities in the series is The Operator, know more commonly as the Slenderman. The series is very popular and well produced, and has garnered the praise of film critic Roger Ebert.
More about the series can be found here at this site, including the videos from the series.
The music video was created by a friend of mine, who's deviantart can be found here, and features the song Hi Scores by Boards of Canada from the 1996 EP of the same name. I think the music fits the video rather well!

Saturday, August 27, 2011

Santana- Evil Ways


Evil Ways is from Santana's Self Titled album, and one of their most well known songs. Its about a guy's girlfriend and her "evil ways". Such evil ways as stated in the song are that when the singer comes home from a hard day of work dinner isn't made, how she isn't there to greet him, how she likes disappearing off with friends constantly, and how he is tired of it and states he will leave her if that doesn't change. Despite that it is a really good song, both to drive to, and to smoke to. The organ in the song is very much one of my favorite parts, as well as Carlos Santana's amazing guitar.


Friday, August 19, 2011

Steppenwolf- Born To Be Wild

Born To Be Wild is definitely a quintessential driving song, probably best associated with the road movie Easy Rider. Its one of my favorite songs to drive at high speeds down country roads to, as it just has a feeling of speed and freedom to it.

Tuesday, August 16, 2011

Led Zeppelin Wallpapers


As you guys know, I am a fan of Pink Floyd and Boston. I have dumped my Pink Floyd Wallpapers and unfortunately cannot find any decent Boston Wallpapers. So today I will dump my Led Zeppelin Wallpapers!



Sunday, August 14, 2011

Fleetwood Mac- The Chain

Fleetwood Mac's The Chain, from their 1977 album Rumours, is one of my favorite songs to drive to when out in the country. It just has like a feeling of desolation to it, which is befitting to those country roads, where it may be 20 minutes to an hour before you see another vehicle out on the road. The bassline is highly recognizable due to its use on BBC's Formula One coverage. Anyways, Fleetwood Mac's The Chain!


Monday, August 8, 2011

Pink Floyd Wish You Were Here Wallpapers

After the success of my previous Pink Floyd Wallpaper posts, including The Wall and Dark Side of the Moon, I decided to post some more. Today's wallpaper dump is based on the 1975 album Wish You Were Here.

Friday, August 5, 2011

Blade Vs. Twilight


Ah, how much I dislike Twilight. This fan trailer is amazing. Ironically enough it portrays the twilight vampires as a threat instead of just some kind of sparkly fairy like they actually are.

Sunday, July 31, 2011

2001: A Floyd Odyssey (2001: A Space Odyssey and Pink Floyd Echoes sync)



I am a huge fan of Pink Floyd, and also enjoy the works of Stanley Kubrick. This sync combines the song Echoes from Pink Floyd's 1971 album release Meddle with the "Jupiter and Beyond the Infinite" section of Kubrick's 1968 film 2001: A Space Odyssey. When I first saw this sync (luckily in 720p) I was impressed with it as it almost seems to be an intentional sync. Be sure to full screen it for best effect, as the tiny screen does it no justice


Tuesday, July 26, 2011

Pink Floyd The Wall Wallpapers

After the Resounding success of my Dark Side of the Moon wallpapers (found here) I decided I'd share my wallpapers that have to do with The Wall. The Wall is one of the favorite albums of my friend Heather, who's blog can be found here and is a good read. Enjoy!

Monday, July 25, 2011

25 or 6 to 4


On this day in music history, way back in 1970, Chicago released the single 25 or 6 to 4. I personally think this is one of my all time favorite songs, as the bass riff is very addicting. Green Day used the riff on  the song Brain Stew, and does absolutely no justice to it. I use 25 or 6 to 4 as the ringtone on my cellphone, and at least twice I have been complemented on my good taste in music rather than being yelled at when it has gone off at inopportune times.


Thursday, July 21, 2011

Feel Like Making Love


This song is definitely a classic, and is track 2 Side A on Bad Company's 1975 Straight Shooter album. I remember being a smartass and dedicating this song to one of my friends after she sent a dirty text meant for another guy. Even though I didn't use her name on air she was still mad as she knew it was directed at her :P


Tuesday, July 12, 2011

Demons (cya-junk version)


This is one of the songs off of the free Drek Kick EP, and one of the times Cyanotic and Rabbit Junk have teamed up to create some awesome music. Its definitely worth picking up some of their other stuff and supporting both groups! Some of their other music I've posted can be found here for Cyanotic and here for Rabbit Junk.

Friday, July 8, 2011

Google Plus

Yes, I am one of those lucky people who managed to score a Google Plus invite. So far I greatly enjoy it, and  am thinking of beginning to move away from using Facebook for most things. One of the things I enjoy best about it is the minimalist interface, which is a nice change from Facebook which has become rather cluttered. If you can get your hands on an invite to Google Plus, you will not regret it.

Sunday, July 3, 2011

Born In The USA


Since the 4th of July is coming up tomorrow, I thought I'd post about one of this country's most hilariously ironic "patriotic" songs.

Born In The USA is about a guy who is continuously screwed over by everyone, especially the US government, who gives him the choice of jail or being drafted and shipped to fight in Vietnam after getting into a fight back home. 

Reagan's press team completely missed the point of the song, and used it during his 1984 electoral campaign. Springsteen is very left wing, and was offended by it being misappropriated as a patriotic song when it is an anti-government and antiwar song.

Saturday, July 2, 2011

Cougars, Y U Hunt Me?


This chart is incredibly useful when determining what you should expect from each age range when dealing with hookups. For the longest time I had cougars chasing me, and it was awkward as they were 15-20 years older than me O_O

Tuesday, June 28, 2011

Can't Touch This


Bit of an inside joke between friends, but also because of me switching to a new url for this blog. Enjoy the song!


Monday, June 27, 2011

Princess Robot Bubblegum (nearly every anime stereotype rolled into 10 minutes)


A friend of mine showed these to me the other day (knowing I'm not too fond of weaboos and crappy anime), and I have to say I got a good laugh at them. Apparently they are from Grand Theft Auto IV
Part 1

Part 2

Sunday, June 26, 2011

In A Gadda Da Vida


Nothing beats getting toasted and throwing this classic onto the stereo, chilling in the beanbag and letting the music just do its thing. Drum solo is pretty damn good as well, though apparently I look like a retard airdrumming to it

Thursday, June 23, 2011

One Wrong Turn Too Many

We all know people who have a terrible sense of direction and constantly get lost, but I doubt any of them are as bad as this guy.

Tuesday, June 21, 2011

Inception- The Dream Police


Inception was an amazing movie, and Cheap Trick's song Dream Police fits the trailer rather well. For those that haven't seen the movie yet, it has to do with lucid dreaming and getting into people's dreams


Sunday, June 19, 2011

Batman Vs. Wolverine


For some reason I seem to really like these fan trailers. Maybe its because they are the kinds of things nerds argue about constantly. Anyways, here is one where it makes it seem as if Bruce Wayne were behind the creation of the Weapon X program, and the creation of Wolverine.


Thursday, June 16, 2011

Get Ready To Die (Stupid people do REALLY stupid things)


I found this video earlier today, and thought it was absolutely entertaining. Thought I would share it with you guys as well.


Tuesday, June 14, 2011

Batman Vs. The Punisher


Unlike some of the other crossovers I've shown, which can be found here, here, and here, this one actually took place, albeit comic book form. Still this fan trailer is downright awesome and one of my personal favorites.


Monday, June 13, 2011

Why Can't We Be Friends


Recently I was part of a company merger, where we were rival companies. The rivalry had been fueled by a previous merger attempt, which had taken place before I joined the company. After I ended up the owner (previous owner resigned and gave me ownership) I decided it might be good to get peace/merger talks back on the table. Both companies had a lot to offer, and since the people that caused the previous merger to fail had left the company, it went fairly smoothly. As of now my staff and employees are finding their niches in the new company, and no drama has flared up yet.

I end this post with a song, dedicated to all the people in our new company. May our rivalry be in the past, and just be friends.

Friday, June 10, 2011

Batman Vs. Ironman


After showing off two other universe crossovers pitting these two against the Terminator, which can be found here and here, I thought you guys might like to see what would happen if they were pitted against each other. I must say its a pretty awesome fan made trailer and is of very high quality.


Thursday, June 9, 2011

Transformers- Robot Rock


I'm quite a big fan of the Transformers, as I grew up on the original cartoons. In my mind there is only one transformers movie and its the original animated one, not the Michael "Baysplosions" Bay movies. I know I might draw some flack from Transformer fans, but Soundwave is one of my all time favorites. He is just awesome.

Wednesday, June 8, 2011

Dark Side of the Moon (8 Bit Style)




A while back I was inspired by the above wallpaper to create a chiptunes cover of Pink Floyd's Dark Side Of The Moon. After spending a couple days on it I finally finished making them, and can be found here at this link. If possible, please give me some feedback on it after you give it a listen.
Its the entire album in 320 kb/s mp3, so enjoy!

Tuesday, June 7, 2011

The Swedish Rhapsody Numbers Station


Time for another semi creepy yet at the same time awesome post! This one has to do with numbers stations, which are described below:

Numbers stations (or number stations) are shortwave radio stations of uncertain origin. In the 1950s, Time magazine reported that the numbers stations first appeared shortly after World War II and were using a format that had been used to send weather data during that war.
Numbers stations generally broadcast artificially generated voices reading streams of numbers, words, letters (sometimes using a spelling alphabet), tunes or Morse code. They are in a wide variety of languages and the voices are usually female, although sometimes men's or children's voices are used.

Evidence supports popular assumptions that the broadcasts are used to send messages to spies. This usage has not been publicly acknowledged by any government that may operate a numbers station, although two QSLs have been received from numbers stations by shortwave listeners who sent reception reports to said stations, which is the expected behaviour of a non-clandestine station.

Below is one of the ones I find rather creepy, which is a station out of I believe Germany known as the Swedish Rhapsody


there are many of these stations out there, and I might post some others in the future

Sunday, June 5, 2011

Poland Cannot Into Space



One of my friends recently showed me the Polandball and other Country ball comics, and I found them incredibly hilarious. Here is one of the more famous ones, with Germanyball and Russiaball mocking Polandball and how it cannot into space. Also, Polandball is so dense that his flag colors are upside down, probably a play on the stereotype that the Polish are ass backwards compared to the rest of Europe.
Also giving a shout out to Bremsy, who runs the blog Funny Pictures All The Time. He featured some of my favorite funny pics a while back, so be sure to go check them out!

Saturday, June 4, 2011

Clitter!


This blog post is dedicated to Erika of BRB Going Insane, who's blog covers a wide range of bizarre including serial killers, necrophilia, animals doing it, and of course Hello Kitty. Its usually an entertaining read, and when I showed her this video, she wished such product were real!


Friday, June 3, 2011

IS TROPICAL- The Greeks (Also a short rant on kids playing Cowadooty)

The music video for this song is downright awesome, and the music is pretty good too. This children, is what we did instead of playing Cowadooty like the pretentious little shits do nowadays. Go outside, have some fun instead of piss off the adults playing AN ADULT GAME! Anyways, enjoy the video

IS TROPICAL- The Greeks

Thursday, June 2, 2011

Surfing Wallpapers (Hooray for Summer!)


Summer is almost here, so whats a better way to show it than some wallpapers that have to do with surfing? Also one of my followers, coolcicler, runs a surf movie blog. That blog can be found here for anyone interested.

Tuesday, May 31, 2011

O Fortuna (Misheard Lyrics)


Many people know the song O Fortuna, and this youtube video makes fun of the fact that the lyrics are often misunderstood. In fact, some people can't listen to the song the same way again after watching the video

O Fortuna (Misheard Lyrics)

Sunday, May 29, 2011

Indianapolis 500 results (and that damn tornado that interrupted it for me)



I was in the middle of watching the last 15 laps of the Indy 500 when they decided to cut to an emergency weather announcement about some tornado warnings on the other side of the state. They never even announced the winner or anything. The 500 is kind of a huge deal for me, so I am rather angered about this.
Oh, and apparently Dan Wheldon won. Good for him
rage,face,4chan,ffuuuuu-,fuck
mfw the 500 got interrupted